The COVID Holiday Season

Scenarios of Drea
4 min readNov 14, 2020
Photo by Victor He on Unsplash

The upcoming holiday season has been on my mind for the last few weeks, and it’s clear that it’s going to be the strangest holiday season of our lives.

Last year, my partner and I were able to celebrate Thanksgiving with my partner’s family on Thursday before traveling to have a “second Thanksgiving” of sorts on Friday, with my parents, my aunt and uncle, my cousins, and their young children. The two-day Thanksgiving has been a staple of my side of the family’s holiday season for the last few years, and I was thrilled to bring my partner along for the first time last year.

This year, none of that will be happening for precautionary reasons. And it’s hard. It feels unfair. I love the holidays. It feels like the happiest time of the year will have to be more muted than ever before. Unfortunately, the coronavirus crisis has gotten worse since the initial waves earlier this year. Experts indicate that this fall and winter could be the most dangerous period of the pandemic yet. As a high-risk person, I’m saddened by the reality that I cannot celebrate the holiday season this year the way I usually would, but I’m hopeful that staying safe now will help us get us back to normal in the future.

For those who may not know, I was born three months early with an array of health issues, including a condition called bronchopulmonary dysplasia (BPD), which…

--

--